Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Plan for your vacation, not your stoma

September 5 2017 , Written by Philip Rathbun

Rather you are a fan of the summer, fall, or winter we all like to plan for a fun adventure.  Vacations can come in all shapes and forms and what may seem like a fun time for one person could seem like misery for another.  But whatever your plans are it is important to be able to plan a vacation and not have to plan it around your stoma.  Some people I have run into literally give up on doing incredible things on their list because they think they are limited by their own health.  Now some people have legitimate health issues and know their limits.  I suggest you do talk with your doctor about doing certain activities.  But in many instances, people are limiting their life because they believe their stoma limits them. I want to go over some of the vacations I have been on, not to brag in any way but to show you that you can be active and have fun with your stoma.

 

The one area that I love to go with my family is the beach.  This can be an ocean or simply a great lake.  Either one is fun and I certainly enjoy what the sun and water bring.  Not lately we have been going to the great lakes during the summer and love the freshwater beaches.  Michigan offers a lot of giant white sand beaches that have some pretty good waves depending on the weather.  This is an area that many people fear if they are new to having a stoma.  I have to say that you should jump in on being active in the beach. 

One of the things that I do at the beach is scaled down.  This means that I use much smaller ostomy bags and even sometimes wear a shirt in the water to avoid sunburns or just to feel better about my weight. But my ostomy does not limit my ability to have fun at the beach.  Just like everywhere else, I bring a repair or oops kit with me.  It has a backup and tape for any leaks that may happen.  I keep sanitary gear and extra seals.  This is all normal and the only difference is I put it in a waterproof bag and container.  That is so sand and water stays out of it just in case I need to get in it. That is an easy plan that comes after I plan that beach vacation.

Another location we like to go is to National Parks that involves mountains.  I love the great outdoors and I have never let my stoma talk me out of going on a hike or adventure out in the great National Parks of the United States.  When I am out and about in the wilderness I do take a whole kit and extra gear for my ostomy.  I find that it adds about 1lb of weight to my pack and I have worked hard to find the best gear for my body.  Each body is different but I am able to do full-day hikes in the mountains and be safe and secure.

So I suggest really going out and living a life that you love.  Rather it's going to the beach or mountains don't let your stoma drive you. 

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post